when [our tongues] were on fire, at Deeper Church.

photo by Tobias Scheck

oh hai you guys.

Today I am over at A Deeper Church teasing out a small strand of spiritual autobiography, as part of tomorrow’s When We Were on Fire synchroblog for the release of Addie Zierman’s incredible book on growing up in the evangelical Christian culture of the 90’s. Reading and resonating so profoundly with this book has harmonized beautifully with the great deal of reflection we first-years have walked through these first months of Duke Divinity. I was so blessed to be able to read Addie’s book on a silent retreat we took a few weeks ago, and I have been carrying it in my heart ever since.

So, I am sharing some memories her story stirred in me, at Deeper Church:

But here now, in this room, we are prayingprayingprayingpraying and no one has told us what we are praying for, and this 8-year-old kid is supposed to be a match to set you on fire, if you are poor enough to have an unlit tongue. My classmates are wincing and fumbling with the sounds coming out of their mouths and I swear the same Spirit everyone is calling on sidles up to me on the edge of the room, where my lips are parted, but unvoiced, and whispers, you can’t stay here.

Come along and read these wisps of memory?

Tomorrow, I’ll add this post to the linkup with others who have their own “on fire” stories to share. I’m looking forward to it, and you should, too!

You can buy When We Were on Fire here, and you can read an excerpt here.

Leave a Reply

